School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

Meet the Residents

2016-2017 Academic Year Residents

Chief Residents

Angeline B., M.D., PGY4


I was born and raised just North of Detroit.  I spend my undergraduate and Medical School years at Wayne State University in Detroit.  After doing multiple rotations through RIM, I knew that this is where I wanted to be for residency.  There is a great sense of teamwork here that is hard to find at other hospitals.  It is also home to a very diverse patient population and allows me to gain exposure in the many different subspecialties of PM&R.

I love to spend any free time I have with friends and family; simply catching up on our lives.

 

Sameer S., M.D., PGY3

I grew up in Sandusky, Ohio a few hours from Detroit. For college, I went to Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. After living out east, I moved back to the Midwest to attend medical school at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. I stayed in Milwaukee for an additional year to complete my Transitional Year at Wheaton Franciscan-St. Joseph Hospital.

 

I chose to do PM&R because I enjoy forming connections with patients and working with an interdisciplinary team. I decided to come to RIM for my PM&R training because of the amazing inpatient facilities, approachable faculty and the opportunity to witness the resurgence of Detroit firsthand! In my free time I enjoy running, cooking, reading and watching Cleveland sports.

 

 

 

Program Year 4 Residents
 
Toure' B., M.D.

 I completed my undergrad at Arizona State University followed by my medical degree from the University of Arizona College in Tuscon. I chose the DMC/WSU program because of the many patient types that come through the hospital on a daily basis. The offerings this program has for the outpatient rotations in the suburbs offers an insight into how outside practices run their offices in addition to having the experience in the Detroit setting.

 

 

Binnan O., D.O., PGY4

I was born and raised in San Diego where I completed my undergraduate education at the University of California, San Diego. From there, I went on to get my combined medical degree in osteopathy (D.O) as well as a Masters in Bioethics at the Kansas City University of Medical and Biosciences in Missouri. I finished my intern year at Firelands Regional Medical Center in Sandusky, Ohio.

I chose the DMC/WSU PM&R program because of its diversity in patient population, its down-to-earth staff, and its great exposure to spinal cord injury which is an academic interest of mine. In my free time I like to spend time with my wife, explore philosophy, cook new things, play video games, exercise, and practice photography.

 

 

Rishi P., M.D.

I was born and raised on Long Island in New York.  I completed my undergraduate education at Saint Joseph's College also on Long Island. There I earned a bachelors of science degree in biology.  Upon completion of undergrad I was accepted to Saint Matthews University School of Medicine located on the beautiful island of Grand Cayman in the British West Indies.  After two years of basic sciences on the island my clinical rotations were in NY, IL, OH, FL.  After finishing medical school I chose to do a surgical preliminary year at St. Joseph's Hospital in Denver, CO. Outside of work I enjoy sports (Mets, Giants, Rangers, Chelsea), cooking, movies, spending time with friends, and traveling.

I decided that PM&R was for me when I could see how my interventions changed someone's ability to function.  To look at someone's overall picture and be able to reintegrate them into society with deficits they might have is fulfilling. Specifically, interventional pain management is an interest of mine.  I chose WSU because of the plethora of diversified pathology. That combined with a faculty focused on teaching that are down to earth and easy to work with made the decision easy.

 

Marc S., D.O.

I am a native of New Jersey and completed my undergraduate education at Saint John’s University in Queens, New York. Shortly after graduating I worked as a Chemist for Dow Chemicals in Research & Development. Upon completion of my medical education at New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine I joined the Navy under the Health Professions Scholarship Program. I completed my internship at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland in Internal Medicine. During my time in the Navy, I served as a Naval and Medical Officer with the United States Marine Corps for 4 years.

Aside from its patient diversity and strong academic background, the camaraderie that each PM&R resident provides at DMC toward one another makes for an optimal learning environment. The faculty parallel this camaraderie with experience, mentorship, and scholarly advice. Currently, my area of focus is sports medicine and traumatic brain injury.

In my leisure, I enjoy spending time with my wife and dogs (Buster & Sophie), cross fit, yoga, fine dining, wine, and the search for the world’s greatest hamburger.

 

 

 

Program Year 3 Residents

Moussa B., M.D.

My parents and I arrived to Detroit, MI from Lebanon in 2001.  I went to Fordson High school in Dearborn MI, then completed my undergraduate education in the Metro Detroit area. I earned my bachelors in Heath Science, and then decided to go to medical school at the  ‘Medical University of the Americas’ on an island in the heart of the Caribbean Sea. After completing the first 2-year on the island, I finished my 3rd and 4th year with rotations mostly in Michigan, Louisiana, Illinois and Oklahoma.

 

The Diversity of patients in the Detroit Area and the compelling nature of being part of a rehab team that makes significant improvement to the quality of life of patients in my own community was the initial spark of my interest in PM&R.  I completed my Transitional year residency at DMC-Sinai Grace Hospital. As a student I rotated at 3 of the PMR programs in Michigan, The Rehabilitation Institute of Michigan (RIM) really stood out the most. The Rehabilitation residency program at Wayne State University/ DMC was my top choice.  I am interested in subspecializing including pediatric rehab, sports medicine, Interventional Pain and cancer rehab. During free time I like spending time with my family and friends. I enjoy, traveling, playing and watching sports (soccer, basketball, golf).

 

Stephanie M, D.O.

I grew up in northeastern Metro Detroit, and completed both my undergraduate and medical school studies through Michigan State University (Go Green!), followed by a traditional rotating internship at Garden City Hospital.

 

After watching my mother work as a physical therapist for 25+ years, when I rotated in PM&R everything 'clicked'. I knew I wanted to work in this field where I could follow patients over time and be a part of helping them achieve more than they ever thought they would do again. Rehab Institute of Michigan stood out to me because of its diverse patient population and pathologies, its intensity of training, and its supportive staff  of subspecialty experts along with a sense of strong resident team camraderie. Though I enjoy muliple apects of PM&R, spinal cord injury, electromyography, and pediatric rehabilitation are of particular interest to me.

 

In my free time, I enjoy travelling, cooking, as well as spending time with my husband, family, and friends.

 

 

Abir R., D.O.

 I was born and raised in East Meadow, New York (Long Island) . Following high school, I accepted a position in Nova Southeastern University's dual admission program for my Bachelor of Science in biology and Doctorate in Osteopathic Medicine. During my clinical years of medical school I trained primarily at Southampton Hospital, Good Samaritan Hospital, Eastern Long Island Hospital, NYU Hospital for Joint Disease, North Shore University Hospital and Metropolitan Hospital. After medical school I matched into a transitional internship with North-Shore Long Island Jewish, Plainview Hospital.  

      My interests in medical school included Neurology, Orthopedics, Psychiatry and social medicine.  Physiatry presented a natural blend of those academic interests while still presenting an opportunity to be hands on with electrodiagnostics and interventional procedures.  The Rehab Institute of Michigan offered a well balanced opportunity to get the proper exposure and training necessary to become a competent rehab and neuromusculoskeletal medical specialist. 

     Within the field of PM&R, I am interested in stroke/cardiac/cancer rehab, sports medicine, interventional spine care and electrodiagnostics.  Outside of work I enjoy playing basketball, soccer, football, volleyball and lacrosse, traveling, playing music and exploring the amazing city of Detroit.

 


Program Year 2 Residents

Andrew B., D.O.

 I was born in Jackson, Tennessee but ended up moving around to different cities in MI, to Roanoke, VA and then finally Chelsea, MI where I finally graduated high school and where I consider to be my home town. I went to medical school in Glendale, AZ, at Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine and would like to move back after I'm done with my training.
 

I chose RIM because of my interests in inpatient rehabilitation, mostly SCI, and RIM has a very strong inpatient. Also I am now  to be close to my friends and family, including my 3 brothers. My outside interests include Michigan State football (favorite team period), Detroit Tigers, hiking, traveling (I have been to Africa, Europe, and Central America). My girlfriend is a dermatology resident here in MI. I have a one year old cat London and I just took up running to run the Detroit Half Marathon and plan to do more in the future.

 

 

Derek B., M.D.

 I was born and raised in the suburbs of Toronto, Ontario. I obtained undergraduate degree from McMaster University before heading to Saba University School of Medicine. I then completed my Transitional Year with Wayne State University at Sinai-Grace Hospital in Detroit.

 

My interests when it comes to medicine include musculoskeletal, sports, neurology and interventional pain. I enjoy all sorts of outdoor activities, travelling and eating good food. On my free weekends, I often visit friends and family in Toronto, travel to distant lands, or visit the local spots for good food.

 

 

Simra J., D.O.

 I was born and raised in Houston, TX. I spent my undergraduate years at The University of Texas in Austin, TX. For medical school, I opted for a change in scenery and completed my medical degree out in Las Vegas as well as my Traditional Intern year.
 

I chose DMC/WSU not only for the diverse population, but also for the wide breadth of diagnoses seen at the hospital on a daily basis. When I'm not at work, I enjoy traveling, cooking, Bikram Yoga, exploring Detroit, going to concerts, and watching college and professional sports (football, basketball).

 

 

Enoch L., M.D.

I was born in New York and lived overseas for a few years before relocating to the Bay Area, in California. I obtained my undergraduate degree at UC San Diego, followed by my doctoral research at UC Davis. My medical education was completed at Rosalind Franklin University of Science and Medicine, and I stayed in the Chicago area for my Preliminary Medicine year at Advocate Lutheran General Hospital.

 

I chose to train at the Rehab Institute of Michigan due to the diverse patient population and the variety of pathologies. The faculty made a significant impression on me during my interview with regards to their focus on education and training. More importantly, the welcoming and family-like atmosphere established by the various Attendings, RN Staff, and Therapists solidified my decision.